Coccoloba - A Luxury Villa to Rent in Nevis, West Indies

 

Guest Reviews

5 Star Review

Here are a selection of reviews from guests who have stayed at Coccoloba. We are very proud to have received 5 Stars from all 25 reviews left by guests on our Homeaway Property Listing.  (A special Thank You to all our guests who took the time to write such kind comments. It’s greatly appreciated)

''Exceeded our expectations in every way''

We have been vacationing in the Caribbean since 1981 and have rented dozens of villas during our stays. This is among our very favorite! It exceeded our expectations in every way; Peter and Louise have thought of every detail necessary to make this house beautiful, well-equipped, comfortable and hard to leave!

The indoor space is open and airy- a chef’s heaven, beautiful bathrooms and air-conditioned bedrooms. But, the patio, outdoor seating and dining areas and the infinity pool are so inviting we hardly needed to go inside. The views of sunset, the evening skies and St. Kitts are fabulous and the house sits in a very private location with beautiful landscaping.

Peter helped arrange many of our transportation needs, including a private water taxi from St. Kitts and a rental car. He and Louise also provided food and beverage at the house for us to enjoy upon our arrival and have created a great booklet of information about Nevis, with suggestions about restaurants and activities to enjoy on the island.

This house is a great value and a wonderful treasure! We rented a car for the week and enjoyed exploring the island. We found the quiet beaches, ate like royalty and found some fun spots for music at night. We spent hours reading and just enjoying the beautiful views. It didn’t occur to either of us that we had not turned on the television the entire week, until we left!

For upscale dining, two of our favorite restaurants were The Rock at Golden Rock and Bananas. Both of these restaurants are magical, especially at night. For more casual dining we also enjoyed Sunrise (by the airport) and Double Deuce (great burger). We plan to return to this luxurious home in this little corner of paradise!

5 Star Review

Cindy and Street (Raleigh, NC, USA)

Mar 29, 2014

''Wonderful''

“Louise and Peter did everything to insure that we had a great time. The house is as good as it appears in the photos,and Nevis and its people are terrific. The location was fantastic. Don’t go there if you’re looking for Burger Kings,strip malls and glitsy restaurants”

5 Star Review

Basil C.
Mar 19, 2014

''Loved Our Stay at Coccoloba''

“The views at Coccoloba were fantastic. We enjoyed watching the sunset from the patio. The place was clean. It was nice to have access to a washer/dryer. The owners were responsive to all of our questions. We came in on Christmas, and the owners stocked the fridge with some essentials. There was a marina at the bottom of the drive, which we could walk to for fishing and scuba diving.”

5 Star Review

Vic & Patricia O.

Mar 11, 2014

''One Of The Best''

“Great location and exceptional home–we rented with another couple for 2 weeks–definitely need a car—-a short drive to everything yet very private–the owners Peter and Louise took care of all the details from arrival pickups,stocked fridge to departure details. Nevisians are some of the most friendly people we’ve ever met. We would visit again”

5 Star Review

Basil C.

Mar 2, 2014

''A Week Away in a Villa Which Redefines Magnificent''

“This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at this truly special villa. We last stayed here a year ago and despite this, when we arrived this year, we were still amazed at the sheer beauty of the property. The transfer to the villa from the airport was incredibly easy, everything being arranged by the owners.

The villa itself was extremely clean and provided all of the facilities listed.
It is in a brilliant location, with a couple fantastic restaurants (the Gallipot being our favourite) and Oualie beach within walking distance. The island has plenty to do, SCUBA diving, snorkeling and golfing being just a few of the things we enjoyed. The owners Peter and Louise are lovely and always available to answer any queries we had. I would definitely recommend this villa for a peaceful and relaxing stay in Nevis.”

5 Star Review

Flemming J. (London)

Oct 20, 2013

''Even Better Then The Photos''

“This was our second stay at Coccoloba and it was just perfect. We stopped for just 10 nights but could have stayed all Summer. Once again Peter & Louise made our vacation faultless and have even managed to improve the experience – last year the road leading up to the villa was quite rough but they have now repaired all the nasty bits with new smooth concrete.

We have always found Nevis to be friendly but this year there was an extra vibrancy in the air. If you are looking for views, privacy, location and the best infinity pool then Coccoloba is a must. We have already booked next year’s stay!”

5 Star Review

Micky (London UK)

Jun 3, 2013

''Beautiful Nevis Getaway''

“Simply Spectacular! Very open feel as you walk in and look out to the deck and ocean/St Kitts views. Your owners will be very welcoming, greeting you at the dock on your boat ferry over from St Kitts to beautiful and relaxing Nevis. You will experience a very comfortable home with gorgeous infinity pool, deck and views that take your breath away every morning as you awake. We will definitely come back here.”

5 Star Review

JC (San Diego)

Mar 17, 2013

''Perfection''

“My husband and I couldn’t say enough great things about Coccoloba and it’s darling owners.

First, the property itself was breath-taking, perfectly located on the island, and incredibly clean! Peter and Louise were so helpful and offered great suggestions to help make our time in Nevis just what we wanted.

The view from every window in the house is stunning and pictures will never justify what you see from the pool.

Our experience at Coccoloba was the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation we’ve taken and we are already planning our return.”

5 Star Review

BB (Texas)

Jan 28, 2013

''Honeymoon at Coccoloba''

“Coccoloba provided the ultimate honeymoon retreat that exceeded our high expectations in every way.

Peter and Louise were gracious hosts and arranged all critical details that ensured our smooth arrival and enjoyable seven day stay. They also provided us with helpful insights on the best things to do and explore on Nevis. We felt like locals within days of arriving.

We cooked breakfast at the house almost every day, never needing to rush away to start the day. The first few days there we were able to get by without renting a car. It only took about 10 minutes to walk down to the road where it was always easy to flag down a cab. Often we would just walk right to Oualie Bay for rum punches. The walk back up was a workout, but we enjoyed the excersice. Walking the road at night, our path was lit by fireflies which was quite a magical experience. Ginger the neighborhood dog was always eager to guide us home as well. Later in the week we rented a car so that we could explore the other side of the island. There are many highly rated restaurants throughout the island and all are a short drive from Coccoloba.

Much of our time there we found ourselves lounging on the outdoor patio, reading books and never growing tired of the priceless view of St. Kitts and the Caribbean Ocean. The covered portion of the patio was a welcomed relief from the sun that still provided all the joy of being outdoors. Having access to our own infinity pool steps from house was a luxury we truly appreciated. The western exposure provided for breathtaking sunsets that never grew old while we were there.

We cannot recommend Coccoloba highly enough, and already dream of the opportunity to return to its blissful wonder.”

5 Star Review

Ryan & Nancy (Los Angeles, CA)

Nov 17, 2012

''Great Place to Relax''

“My wife and I REALLY enjoyed the home. It absolutely has the best view of any property on the island. We spent most of our time on the back patio and pool area just looking at the gorgeous Caribbean Sea, Oualie Harbour with boats in it and the island of St. Kitts — not to mention a direct west view of the sun setting on the ocean horizon each evening. You have complete privacy at this home also. The air conditioned bedrooms are spacious and the A/C works great. The access road to the house will look a little primitive to some but that is typical around the island once you get off the main road. Also, the location relative to the rest of the island gives you easy access to the best restaurants and Oualie Harbour has all the water activities you can think of. Also, Peter the owner is exceptionally helpful and a very nice guy. We highly recommend this property.”

5 Star Review

Guy B. (Anguilla and Southern California)

Apr 15, 2012

''Spring Stay at Coccoloba''

“This has been one of the best experiences in renting villas in the Caribbean. From the time we landed until the time we reached the villa we were escorted by land taxi, water taxi and villa receptionist with excellent coordination. A later visit by the owners provided us with island insights and details of the villa amenities. Their personal interest in our comfort was greatly appreciated. The remainder of the week was quiet, peaceful and truly enjoyable. We would highly recommend this villa for those looking for a remote and relaxing vacation.”

5 Star Review

Scarab (Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA)

Apr 4, 2012

''Beautiful Seclusion''

“In February of 2012, we had a delightful and far too brief stay at Coccoloba.

This was our first visit to Nevis, and the enthusiasm and welcoming nature of our hosts, combined with the fantastic photos on the website, convinced us to change our plans and stay at Coccoloba. That was one of the best decisions of a great vacation.

Coccoloba is one of those places that photographs well but is still much more magnificent in person. The villa formed the perfect retreat, the ideal home base to explore the island, the scenic vista to soak up our first experiences on the island. From both the veranda and the pool, the views of the gulf and ocean change before you as the light changes. I have never enjoyed cooking breakfast as much as when we opened up the great room walls during a gloriously clear morning, and watched the morning light sweep across the water below.

The glass walls, which have the ability to completely open up, were put to their full advantage during the one rainy day of our visit. We watched the gentle showers move through while relaxing in the living room with a bottle of wine provided by our hosts. It was perfect.

The house-cat, Trouble, was the perfect mix of friendly and aloof, around when you wanted a friendly cat to scritch and not underfoot when you didn’t. One morning, the monkeys visited the beautifully landscaped front yard, posing for the camera and chittering to each other. The privacy and seclusion of the villa was complete — we were not bothered throughout our entire stay. The water wealth of Nevis was used to provide fantastic showers.

We look forward to our next visit to Nevis and to Coccoloba.”

5 Star Review

Lee (Iowa)

Mar 11, 2012

''Privacy and Serenity in a Beautiful Modern Villa Perched High Overlooking the Sea''

“Wow! Be prepared to be awestruck by the incredible panorama seen from Coccoloba: across the channel to St Kitts. We spent so much time just drinking in this superb view.
We revelled in the sunsets—once observing the amazing green flash. Plan to celebrate nature’s show each night by stretching out on the veranda whilst sipping your favourite beverage. Heaven!
You will thoroughly enjoy this newly constructed very liveable modern home, so well maintained. Images on the website understate (how rare is that?) the quality and splendour of this fabulous villa. Floor-to-ceiling glass-panel doors open fully, so all the kitchen/living room/dining/veranda areas flow as a unified contiguous environment—outdoors to indoors: architecture to love.
Air-conditioning is provided in the spacious inviting bedrooms, however during our stay we never needed to avail. Pleasant breezes suffuse throughout this unique mountain eyrie.
Gracious owners Louise and Peter provided everything we possibly could need, even including a fine bottle of chilled wine and delicious home-baked bread upon arrival. They have over-stocked the spacious kitchen with all needed high-end appliances, cookware, tableware and gadgets. Coccoloba is fitted with a large outdoor barbeque; Wi-Fi; plasma TV + DVD player; iPod dock; local landline and mobile phones; abundant towels; picnic gear and more. We adopted the owners as friends. We felt that they couldn’t do enough for us: organising airport transport, rental vehicle, sailing/snorkelling trips, restaurant recommendations and bookings . . .
Peter designed the blue-tile infinity-edge pool from which vista you survey the Caribbean Sea. In contrast to the postage-stamp-size pools common in the islands, Coccoloba provides a truly swimmable fresh-water pool: ideal for revitalising laps.
The website doesn’t convey the special atmosphere of total privacy and serenity of this villa, enhanced by its beautiful well-maintained gardens and exquisite setting on the border of the Nevisian rain forest. We loved it.

The villa is sited just ¼ mile off the main highway, but it’s all uphill on a bumpy semi-paved road. Peter explained that the road association is planning major improvements soon. We suggest that you hire a well-worn 4-wheel -drive vehicle: then no worries about a chance bump or scratch whilst you vacation on this unspoiled island with its unpredictable mix of good and bad roads and drivers.

We hope to return often.”

5 Star Review

Chase Xeen (Warren, VT, USA)

Feb 26, 2012

''Recent Stay at Coccoloba''

“Four of us just returned to upstate NY from a great ten days at Coccoloba. This may be the nicest home on Nevis. We spent many hours on the deck enjoying the view over the no-edge pool toward the channel and St. Kitts. Twice after a rainstorm I saw horizon to horizon rainbows. The house has beautiful terraced gardens with tropical flowers and hummingbirds. Also, prides of shy monkeys appeared a few times. House is quite new and in great shape and owner is responsive and near-by to answer questions. He provides a personal guide to the island’s features including stores, beaches, restaurants, etc. at the time of contract. Four wheel drive vehicle essential to climb the hill and road in rough shape due to one new house under construction but Coccoloba is at the top, so no traffic. We flew JetBlue NYC to San Juan, then Cape Air to Nevis (90 minutes, two engine prop), which was fine. Can also go direct to St. Kitts, then water taxi to Oualie Beach I think, which is near the house.
All Nevisians friendly. Had wonderful stay!
Thanks Peter!”

5 Star Review

Ken (Rochester, NY)

Feb 7, 2012

''The Artist''

“It was absolutely beautiful.”

5 Star Review

The artist (Houston)

Nov 30, 2011

''Movie Star Location''

“We have been renting villas in Nevis for several years and also stayed at many other Caribbean islands. Coccoloba is by far the best and most luxurious we have stayed in. This was our second stay there and we cannot wait to go back for out winter trip. This time we brought our friends Chuck and Sue. The villa is very spacious and both bedroom suites are beautifully furnished with large doors opening sraight onto the deck and pool.

Peter and Louise (the owners) went beyond the call of duty organizing everything for us before our arrival, meeting us at the airport and thoughtfully leaving the fridge stocked with food and drinks. There was even a fresh loaf of bread waiting for us. The car rental didn’t show up as planned on our arrival so Peter lent us his car for the first evening! The road up to the villa is quite rough in some places and we were pleased we had a jeep. However, once there, the views are just breathtaking. The villa is set in amongst trees and forest with no immediate neighbours so it really is very private. We did have unannounced visitors on two mornings when about 15 monkeys came down through the garden!

Although the photos on the website are beautiful they don’t do it justice. The pool has a real infinity edge, the water seems to just fall into the sea below. During our earlier visits to Nevis we used to have sunset drinks at Sunshines bar on the beach by Four Seasons. This time we always made sure we were back on our deck. Watching the sunset from there was just amazing.

As I mentioned before we do villa rentals 3 or 4 times a year. Compared to the others we have rented this has to be both our favourite and the best value for money we have found. I would not hesitate recommending it to anyone.”

5 Star Review

Stevev (Plymouth UK)

Aug 28, 2011

''Fantastic holiday at Coccoloba !''

“We visited Nevis in February 2011. We have been to many other Caribbean islands, but Nevis has to rate in the top 3 for it’s scenery, laid back lifestyle, friendliness, and climate. Peter and Louise (the owners) were great hosts, being very helpful, both before we arrived and during our stay. The villa was absolutely first class, with stunning views, and was perfectly well equipped and designed. The pool and Trouble the cat kept the teenage kids entertained for the holiday! The villa and Nevis are definitely some of the places we would hope to visit again!”

5 Star Review

Tracey, Andrew, James & Jenny (Skegness, England)
05/22/11

''Wonderful Week On Nevis !''

“Just returned from spending a week with another couple, staying at Coccoloba. I can’t really add much to the reviews already here, except to agree 100% and say that our week was fantastic. The view is something I never tired of. Every time I looked out, I did a double-take, it is that beautiful. The infinity pool is also fantastic. We never even went to the beach because the pool was so enticing. The villa has plenty of space for four adults. If I had to think of a couple of items that could improve, those minor things would be the bathroom windows did not open and therefore were much warmer than rest of the house, and the beds in the guest room were not as comfortable as the master bedroom. Dinner at Golden Rock was the highlight of the week’s meals, it was superb and the grounds and sugar plantation ruins are pure Eden on earth. Coccoloba’s owner, Peter, went above and beyond answering all of our millions of questions via emails and phone calls leading up to our visit, he is a very gracious host, and we felt so ‘at home’. This trip will be the benchmark for all future trips. Thank you, Peter, for sharing your beautiful villa with us. ”

5 Star Review

Island Girl (Crawford, TX)
05/19/11

''Relaxed Luxury. Breathtaking View. Ultimate Privacy'.'

“Just returned from spending a week with another couple, staying at Coccoloba. I can’t really add much to the reviews already here, except to agree 100% and say that our week was fantastic. The view is something I never tired of. Every time I looked out, I did a double-take, it is that beautiful. The infinity pool is also fantastic. We never even went to the beach because the pool was so enticing. The villa has plenty of space for four adults. If I had to think of a couple of items that could improve, those minor things would be the bathroom windows did not open and therefore were much warmer than rest of the house, and the beds in the guest room were not as comfortable as the master bedroom. Dinner at Golden Rock was the highlight of the week’s meals, it was superb and the grounds and sugar plantation ruins are pure Eden on earth. Coccoloba’s owner, Peter, went above and beyond answering all of our millions of questions via emails and phone calls leading up to our visit, he is a very gracious host, and we felt so ‘at home’. This trip will be the benchmark for all future trips. Thank you, Peter, for sharing your beautiful villa with us. ”

5 Star Review

Island Girl (Crawford, TX)
05/19/11

''Our Best Vacation to Date!''

“Our week at Coccoloba was pure heaven! I honestly cannot describe how beautiful the villa is. The views are absolutely amazing, so much so that we didn’t want to go to bed at night and couldn’t wait to get up in the morning. The villa is of the highest quality, very well appointed and extremely comfortable. The owners were very helpful prior to and during our trip. They met us when we arrived at Oaulie Beach, left the fridge stocked with drinks and even had a fresh loaf of bread and jam waiting for us.

The island is beautiful and the locals are friendly and helpful. I highly recommend renting a car – each day we would drive around the island visiting different beaches, sugar plantations and beach bars and restaurants. The best meals we had were at Gallipot’s, Lime and Golden Rock – all extremely fresh and not too expensive.

This was our first trip to Nevis and we cannot wait to return. Hopefully we will again have the pleasure of staying at Coccoloba, because I truly doubt there is another property of this quality, in this price range, in the Caribbean.”

5 Star Review

Edie (Oxford, MS, US)

Apr 9, 2011

''What a Week''

“My wife and I just returned from a week at Coccoloba. We were attracted to the house by the pictures on VRBO. However, I have to say, while they are very nice they really do’t do justice to just how nice the house is when you are standing on the veranda, high above the ocean, looking at the unbelievable views. The house itself was even better that we expected. Peter and Louise were very helpful in arranging things before our trip and were even more help when we arrived. If you are looking for a place for total relaxation with the best views and exceptional accommodations, then look no further than Coccoloba.”

5 Star Review

Tracy (Alexandria, VA)

Mar 29, 2011

''Absolutely Gorgeous''

“We had a fantastic time at CoccaLoba – as lovely as the photos are, they don’t do the views and the house justice! They were simply stunning – the infinity pool is super, lounging outside was peaceful, relaxing – lovely both day and night with amazing sunsets. Our ‘away from it all’ vacation here was perfect – no high rises, no hotels pounding music, simply peace and quiet with the most lively action of the holiday provided by the monkeys – so much fun!!

The owners were available to answer questions and guide us on where to visit to eat and hang out – Golden Rock Inn’s breakfast was lovely and in another beautiful setting. They helped us get a rental car, delivered fresh baked bread on arrival and generally made us feel so welcome without any intrusion on our privacy. We will be back as soon as schedule permits, cannot wait!”

5 Star Review

Tess (New York)

Feb 25, 2011

''A Perfect Villa for a Holiday of a Lifetime''

“I wanted to take my Father (aged 89) on a holiday of a lifetime and where better than the beautiful island of Nevis! I have visited the island with my husband and friends many times and always stayed at a local hotel on the beach, but this time decided to stay at the stunning Coccoloba villa which has dramatic views of the ocean and St. Kitts. We were not disappointed! The front door opens into a spacious and modern lounge and kitchen, with large folding doors onto a beautiful veranda with a dining table and easy chairs. Beyond, (with no steps) is a spacious sun terrace with sunbeds and tropical plants and an unbelievable infinity swimming pool with warm clear water and stunning sea views. We thoroughly enjoyed eating our meals sitting at the dinning table on the veranda looking across to St. Kitts and the Caribbean sea, never tiring of the view day or night.
The two lovely air conditioned bedrooms (one en-suite and one opposite the main bathoom) were spacious, clean and comfortable and had folding doors to the veranda. Ceiling fans are fitted throughout the villa. The owners have obviously have put a lot of thought, love and care into this property and keep it beautifully furnished and maintained.

When we ventured away from the villa (with helpful advice from the owners) we were able to enjoy all that Nevis has to offer, as it is a small (36 square miles) and friendly island, steeped in history, and with lovely people everywhere you go. Nevis has a great climate all year, even in the summer months. We visited many historical hotels, wonderful restaurants, and even had a walk in the tropical rainforest. We love the natural beaches and the stunning views around every corner.

A beautiful, peaceful and unforgetable holiday. We stayed for 11 nights in May. My father and I hope to be back when he’s 90!
I would highly recommend a holiday staying at villa Coccoloba.”

5 Star Review

Father and daughter (Southport, Merseyside, U.K.)

Jul 13, 2010

''A Villa to Die For''

“Without a doubt Nevis is by far the best Caribbean island to holiday on. (We have visited most other islands) and Coccoloba is the best villa we have stayed in! We had the most wonderful holiday there. As the taxi took us up Ridge Road towards the Jones Estate we knew that the views and the location were going to be quite something. We were not disappointed. The villa sits in a perfect position with stunning views across to St Kitts. The villa itself is incredibly well maintained with high quality furnishings throughout. We found it very hard to leave the comfort of the villa and the magnificent swimming pool but on the advice of the owners we ventured out and found some fantastic beaches and delightful restaurants. The locals we found to be friendly and hospitable. We can’t wait to go back.”

5 Star Review

daytrader (London, England)

Jun 24, 2010

''Our Dream Holiday!''

“My husband and I recently stayed in this villa for a 2 week holiday. The standard was excellent. The photos, although very nice, do not do it justice. The views are outstanding, you are hit with them the moment you enter the villa because of the huge glass doors that open up completely to the veranda. The villa itself is very spacious, modern and luxurious. It makes excellent use of the outdoor space where we spent most evenings sipping cocktails whilst watching the beautiful sunsets. The villa was very clean and well-maintained, it was obvious that it is loved and cared for! The owner was extremely helpful in answering our questions and gave us lots of advice on which restaurants, bars, etc to visit when we asked. When we did finally manage to drag ourselves away from the villa we really enjoyed Nevis. We found a few secluded beaches (with the owners advice) and enjoyed having them entirely to ourselves. We were completely charmed by the Nevisians who were incredibly friendly. We have now recommended Coccoloba to all of our friends and will be back there next year for even longer.”

5 Star Review

Toria G. (Guangzhou, China)

Jun 16, 2010

Want To Come And Stay ?

If you would like to stay at Coccoloba for your vacation on Nevis then please get in touch as early as your plans allow.
Our villa is very popular and books up quickly, particularly during high season.

Booking Inquiries

Coccoloba - A Luxury Villa to Rent in Nevis, West Indies

A Beautiful Villa To Rent In Nevis, West Indies

Coccoloba is a luxury Caribbean villa available to rent in Nevis, West Indies